Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting through xmas

Hi

So I'm sat here pretty hungover and feeling like I have hit rock bottom. I have a broken heart, massive debts, terrible job, single mum, the list goes on...

I know that although things are bad, I have a home and my kids are great (and healthy) and I'm healthy too (although if I keep going like this I won't be) But what I really want to do is to stop drinking. I have been fighting this for 15 years now and I'm so tired.

If I bite the bullet and do it today, I have to get through xmas and new year sober, with everyone trying to get me to have a drink, they don't get it that when I start, I can't stop. It's like I hate myself so much that the only way I am happy is when I'm drunk but then it's always end the same, me crying and in a mess. My kids are so used to me being like this now, it's the norm.

This is the 3rd xmas that I have been unhappy. I don't want another xmas day with me drunk and crying. I need to find the strength to get through it sober.

Thanks for letting me wibble on, I guess I'm looking for support here, I can't (and don't want to) go to AA.

UBx

Getting through xmas

:welcome:
    Hi Ultrabunny!
    My name is Stirly-Girly. Is this your first day at MWO? I joined Dec 1st but had already been checking out the posts for about a week before joining. How about you? Did you just discover MWO today.?
    Stirly
    :wavin:
    For every 60 seconds that you are angry, you lose a minute of happiness.
    AF since 10/10/2015:yay:

Comment

Getting through xmas

I have a couple of tips about getting through the parties and the offers of drinks, etc., etc.

Comment

Getting through xmas

Hi Ultrabunny

Im new like Stirly-Girly too although I havent totally given up yet,
        I really sympathize with you about this time of year there is SO much pressure to drink!