confused wife

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

confused wife

I would like to start by saying this is my first time talking about this because i was ashamed to admit how my life at home is.

Well here is the background. Me and My husband have been married since 2005. He started drinking within 6 months of us being married. He progressed from just 1 night a week to 7 days a week by our first anniversery. He just got home from his first 30day rehab last month. He has done none of his after care. I just found his beer cans from where he drank last night while I was at work. Here are my questions. Do I tell him i know he is drinking again? How far should i go with encouraging him to do after care? I don't want to push to hard he uses that as an excuse. "why don't you get off my back about it. All this nagging would cause someone to drink." We have 2 children. I am scared this will effect them and their lives.
    :new:

confused wife

It is a struggle, He knows he i snot supposed to drink but he is an addict. He probably is ashamed too which leads him right back down the same path. I would suggest telling him in a positive way that he needs to get himself back. Do it in a way that you areinvolved to. See it as a team effert that you are trying to help him and that you care. Sometimes this works but you need to at least try.
    Starting over again 09/06/11

"When its good its good its so good until it goes bad" Pink,Sober

sigpic

Comment

confused wife

Iknow that whenever my husband tackled me about my drinking I would get really defensive about it, I knew inside that he was right, so do try to be gentle, I can sort of see both sides now, it is very hard, good luck ,keep coming here there is so much experience, Tawnywitch
      Twitch

Comment

confused wife

This is really tough.....alcoholics work hard to enable their drinking. They will lie, sneak and yes, blame others for their drinking. I am so sorry to hear that you are going through this.