First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Post

Hi Everyone:new: - I've read some of your stories and feel lucky not to have had to face some of the things you have, but also pathetic because I just can't explain my need to drink. My story reads a bit like Roberta Newells' - on the outside everything really is perfect - everyone I know would say I am (and I usually feel) a really 'together' person. I don't need to drink for courage - I often drink less the more sociable or busy I am: I drink when I'm on my own or with my husband/family. God knows why - they are lovely, fantastic people who don't know about the 'extra' drinks I sneak. I've been drinking since I was a student - on and off, sometimes controlled, sometiimes not, but now I feel my health is bound to start suffering and I have to get it under control. If I can do it, today will be my first AF day for over 6mo. I think I need to abstain for a while before I try moderation. I've sent off for the CDs and book - not sure about the meds as it would mean facing up to a doctor - I also really want to 'fix' myself. So, I'll keep reading your stories tonight and try to be kind to myself. In a previous attempt to stop drinking, I found this - I think it's very sad, but sums up how I feel about drinking - I just can't stop falling in the hole!

Autobiography in Five Chapters
    By Portia Nelson

Chapter I

I walk down the street.
    There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
    I fall in.
    I am lost... I am helpless.
    It isn't my fault.
    It takes forever to find a way out.

Chapter II

I walk down the same street.
    I pretend I don't see it.
    I fall in again.
    I can't believe I'm in the same place, but it isn't my fault.
    It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter III

I see it is there.
    I still fall in...it's a habit.
    My eyes are open.
    I know where I am.
    It is my fault.
    I get out immediately.

Chapter IV

I walk around it.

Chapter V