Exhausted

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exhausted

I've been reading through a lot of the posts here and this community seems to have a wealth of people who have been there and done exactly as I have for so many years. I need to find people I can identify with who are making the changes I want to make. "Walking the talk" I guess.

I've been drinking for 20 years, started as a 14 year old binge drinker and progressed to heavy pot-smoking on the months I didn't drink. Have done plenty or harder drugs, but AL seems to be my major kick. I drink a lot of wine, a 2 litre cask is not an issue for me (until the next morning when the hangover strikes), and I'm not a tall woman, so I'm not quite sure how I haven't offed myself due to AL poisoning through the years. I guess something is watching over me 'cause I always seem to scrape out of every shitty situation I find myself in due to my poor judgement when drunk.

The last 10 years in particular have consisted of gambling, missing work (I have a very good job and nobody at work knows I'm a drunkie), verbally abusing my daughter (who's a teenager and seen me drunk for as long as she can remember but still loves me anyway for some reason I can't work out), getting thrown out of bars, making a public tool of myself, losing friends, embarrassing and harassing family in my younger years, writing and sending emails/messages on SN sites to people I that I would never send when sober, having sex with the wrong people ... just basically being a total screw up.

Wash. Rinse. Repeat. I'm so ashamed of myself and don't know how to end this spiral of drinking, regret and guilt. I'm hungover as sin and remember falling asleep repeating the words "when is it my turn to be happy?"