Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Desperately seeking sobriety

:new:

I'm brand new to MWO and I'm scared but hopeful. I've finally been beaten into a state of reasonableness, as they say. I've got a head full of slogans from time in and out of a traditional recovery program, but it just hasn't worked for me.

And so I swallowed my pride, confessed to my Doc about my drinking problem, and asked for Topamax. This is my fourth day on it. I bought a healthfood store amino acid complex, and yesterday I ordered MWO's hypnoCD's, kudzu, L-glut, and milk thistle. I already take a bunch of high quality vits and supps; now I need to commit to regular exercise! Today I walked around my neighborhood for about 45 minutes.

Anyway, thank you all for being here for me!

Also, thanks to greeneyes for her kind welcome and to sunshine_gg for her suggestion to start this thread. I've never posted anything, anywhere, ever! I'm taking baby steps, but with your help I believe I'll begin to find my way.

Yours,
    northerngirl

Hi Northerngirl: It sounds like you are setting yourself up on a positive course. Good for you in buying MWO's CD's and the supplements. Excercise is alos going to make you mentally and physically better. I commend you for talking to your doctor and asking for Topamax. Remember, you are dealing with a disease. As you know, some of us are allergic to alcohol. One drink leads to another. We didn't ask for this. It sounds like you have accepted your drinking problem and are going to the ends to put it to rest. I'm proud of you. -Reenie
    September 23, 2011

Comment

Welcome Northern Girl
      Different things work for different people, talking to your Doc was a huge step. Doing that was my beginning of my beginning and I've not looked back.
      Keep posting specially in the first few days, the encouragement here is worth any rehab programme!! Well done on 45 mins walk, could do with that myself:goodluck:
      Contentedly sober since 27/12/2011