Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How can I change my negative thinking?

Hi all,

I've been talking alot about how I need to change my outlook to life and become a more 'positive' person.. but I am just not sure how to do this! Most of my life I have been negative, and lived in fear.. I am not very good with people (though I am a nurse, and do help people in my job), when it comes to personal relationships and friendships, I find myself 'ruining' things (due to my low self-esteem).. and that was a big reason why I drank! (though it was a cycle as when I drank I would ruin things even more, plus I would find alot of my worrying was in my head, but AL made my negative thoughts come true)..
    I don't know if I can go through the rest of my life being lonely as I am too afraid to make friends for fear of being rejected.. that's why I would drink so much, it was my 'friend' that hung out with me all day.. :H
    *sigh" I know to be truly happy will be to stay AF, but be less paranoid about the world and people, and be able to maintain friendships - as being with other people does bring me happiness as long as I am not worrying about what they think of me etc. all the time.. Does anyone have any ideas as to how I can overcome my fear of life and start to enjoy myself more? (without AL)..

Any advice would be gratefully received,

Thanks, K xx
    "It works if you work it, because you are worth it!!!"

:groupluv:

KatieB;814078 wrote: . . . I don't know if I can go through the rest of my life being lonely as I am too afraid to make friends for fear of being rejected.. that's why I would drink so much, it was my 'friend' that hung out with me . . .