new here but past sell by date

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi I'm Jackie. I'm new here -of course. I've been intending to stop drinking for over 20 years now- i always have an excuse- i'm tired, i'm happy, i'm angry, i'm upset- whatever. Only now i can barely function anymore- i cant cope with anything. i'm on my own so i cant afford to be out of work- and i'm in serious debt-i dont call myself an alcoholic but i wish i could stop drinking i have to now- i'm 48 years old, i cant go on like this anymore. i need to stop this- i function- just. but i've lost so many friends along the way. i just have to drink the most even by myself- i cut short seing people so i can drink. i hate myself - i know i'm destroying everything i care about- but i still cant stop. if anyone can help please do- i think i'm going mad- i have to get ok. how do i do that?

Hi Jackie
    Glad you are here. Why can't you cope with anything? This is a good step. I have found a lot of support here and have been able really take a look at what I am doing to myself
    A lot of people "chat" so you should go there. Nice place to get lots of insight.

Welcome!!
    "Keep your eyes and heart focused on the end goal at all times, and never settle for less."

Comment

Hi Jackie :welcome:

I'm Neil, and I've been here a month now.

First thing, thanks for posting. I know it takes some courage to do that the first time, so good for you.

Second, I'm replying here because I know where you are coming from. I'm 50 years old, and starting drinking when I was 16. I knew I needed to stop when I was in my twenties, but nothing ever seemed to come together for me either. It just took 25 years of trying everything I knew to stop, and like you, I always had some reason that drove me back to the drink.

There is hope. I haven't had a drink in almost 10 months now. If I can do it , so can you, because so many times I felt like there was no hope for me. So please believe there is hope for you too.