Strange ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strange ?

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this. About day 10 I started to have memories come back. Not bad memories just odd memories of little moments. The other thing isn't as good. While drinking I don't recall having dreams. Now I do but they're nightmares. I don't remember them once I wake up. I just know they were bad.
    This happened once before when I tried to quit on my own. I only lasted 14 days then. Is this a normal side effect?
    Sober since 4/8/10 -OVER 150 DAYS AND GOING AF!!!!

Get busy livin or get busy dyin-Duane Peters
    No more bad future-Skull Skates

Strange ?

Hi there

I'm a relative newbie and haven't plucked up the determination to go more than 8 days yet, but lots of people have trouble sleeping when they go AF, and many of us have weird dreams for a while. The fact that memories are coming back suggests that maybe some of those booze soaked synapses in your brain are working again. I wonder if the dreaming is something like this too. Take it as a positive thing. It sounds like it goes away soon. I also get flu-like symptoms after a few days. If dreams and flu-like symptoms are all you have to deal with as withdrawl symptoms, it's not that bad.

Comment

Strange ?

Hey Sk8punk, good work on being sober since April 8th, you should be proud. I have noticed the memories "thing" during waking hours as well. Dancingon makes a good point. In addition, I used to spend a certain amount of mental energy worrying about my drinking, or dumb things I did, or future drinking - so perhaps that mental space is now available for memory work. Certainly I am sleeping differently as well, lots of dreams. I think our sleep will return to what it is supposed to be, after we are sober for a while. Sleeping after alcohol is not nearly as restorative as normal sleep. Keep up the great work,
      Hill
      Sober since Feb 7, 2010.

Comment

Strange ?