Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is Quitting Drinking Similar to Quitting Smoking?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi Everyone

I've been lurking for a few weeks and actually utilized the live chat once, but I have this one question that I'm trying to get some insight on - Is Quitting Drinking Similar to Quitting Smoking?

I quit smoking on 3/17/09 cold-turkey after smoking for 24 years. I have not had a single puff since that St. Patty's day last year when I quit the smokes. And now my goal for 2010 is to quit drinking.

A little history - I have been a beer drinker since I was 15 or so. I've been drinking on average 10 beers a night for the past 10+ years (with two 'quits' during both of my pregnancies and while nursing my kiddos), however, the last quit was approximately 8 years ago.

I fully recognize that I have a problem but I am scared to quit. I'm not sure that scared is the right word to place on my feelings but drinking and getting drunk are pretty much the only thing I've known for most of my life.

Prior to giving up the smokes, I couldn't even fathom life without them, but all in all, the quit wasn't nearly as difficult as I had thought it would be. Yes, I had some major moments and lots of tears and 'depression', but overall I'm so happy that I finally just said enough is enough and I can't believe that it's already been 14 months (I used to count the minutes, then hours, then days, and now I don't even count until I get a monthly quit anniversary reminder)!