Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New from the UK

:new:

Just want to say 'hi!' - fell on this site by accident, kind of, doing some online tests for alcoholism and alcohol abuse and there it was. Thought it looked interesting so here I am!
    Realised today I have been drinking heavily for 25 years, I'm 39 so that's pretty scary, especially when I think about the (potential) state of my poor liver. Problem is, a common theme I realise from reading through many of the posts, I really enjoy drinking, socially or alone, I love the taste of a good glass of wine & do not want to give up completely, just would be great to be able to drink a glass or two without finishing a bottle or two followed, on a night out, by lashings of vodka & a guilty head & memory loss the next day. Unfortunately I have always had a high tolerance to alcohol so feel a glass or two to be a slight waste of time, how sad is that?!
    Have to say I don't think I am an alcoholic but how can you be sure? I have gone without for weeks at a time without any side effects, does that mean anything?
    I've ordered the book & CDs already so fingers crossed on the right path. Best wishes to everyone on here, & thanks for listening!

New from the UK

Welcome! Your story sounds very similar to mine, I too have a high tolerance for alcohol, always did, could drink any man under the table, was cool in my 20's but sad now in my mid 30's .. I also do not think I am an alcoholic but as you say how do you know? I am definitely an abuser of alcohol, as a friend recently told me I use alcohol as a crutch, I think she is right. I have suffered badly from loneliness over the last 3 years or so and so started drinking alone rather than face up to those feelings .. I've also suffered from depression and self harm and self medicated for years .. tho as someone pointed out in another post, the irony is that the self medication has now become a bigger problem than the depression, what luck eh!!