Ohhh Mommie Dearest

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ohhh Mommie Dearest

I have always been really concientious about my health, eat well and take regular exercise.
    However I have been reaching for the bottle most evenings now for over 8 years and I am falling apart as a result. I cannot form lasting relationships, family relationships have broken down and my friends wont talk to me. this is not because I exhibit drunken behaviour or get drunk when I am with them. i am a secret drunk.

My mother drives me crazy and I can no longer be in her company, I used to be able to tolerate her, but I had to have a few wines to do this. I now would rather not bother as there is a lot of anger towards her from my childhood and she irritates the hell out of me.

I recently had an 11 day abstinence period whereby I felt great, lost a few pounds and was very positive about most aspects of my life. Then my mother showed up. I had not seen her for 3 months. She had left my house back then, slamming every door she could in her wake because I had asked her some stuff about my childhood. Stuff that, as usual she denies and cannot remember! 'Why do you always bring up the past?' is what she says.

Why do I bring up the past? I wanted some answers. Why did she hit me so much even when I was good, why she allowed my brother to hit me, why she blamed me for all the bad shit that happened in her life, why I was the little house maid whilst my siblings did nothing, why I was abandoned aged 12 whilst she ran off with my siblings. Why she put her social life above all else and blamed us bastard kids for ruining her life. She has never put any importance on our relationship and would constantly let me down as a child and even more so in adult life. Always turning up late is her favourite.