Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

desperate for a change

Hi.
    I wonder whether or not I'm the first newbie to post while drinking a beer. That would be kind of funny, except it really isn't funny at all. I'm desperate to get control over my drinking. By most measures, I'm pretty successful. I finished my PhD last year and have a tenure track job at a major university. I did this after I left my first career in the corporate world, which I hated. While I worked in corporate, I developed a nice little drinking problem: six pack of beer alone at night but more often than not, out drinking with my alcoholic fellow worker bees. Back then, there came a point where I decided to quit. And I did. I quit for a year.

But graduate school and drinking (don't think it's just for undergraduates... oh no, it's not. I won't even mention the rampant problem drinking among jr. academics trying to deal with the stress of pursuing tenure) go hand and hand. In college, I barely drank at all. Wasn't my thing. Graduate school gave me the opportunity to relive my youthful college days. Study hard, write, teach etc during the week. Party even harder on the weekend. I had it under control for the first few years. But when I got to that point in a PhD program where you begin dissertation research--lonely, self-driven work--, I slowly began to drink every day. Just a little at first... But soon, I could easily consume a bottle of wine (that's not "real" alcohol is it? Not really? It demonstrates sophistication.... Shouldn't a well educated person know the difference between Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris?) by myself at night, while writing through the wee hours.