Afraid of slipping...!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Afraid of slipping...!

I'm on day 20 and instead of feeling stronger, I feel weaker.

There are a few reasons for this. The little addictive voice "beast", if you will, has been beaten down the past weeks, and has been sullenly laying around with one eye open waiting for an opening. There hasn't been one until now...a combination of them. For one thing, I'm still dealing with depression and stress. I have more free time without AL now, but I just don't know what to do with myself. I'm still learning what I like to do and I'm still stuck in the rut that AL put me in. And so I'm getting a little discouraged...I was hoping some of the depressive fog would have lifted after a couple of AF weeks.

Also, a couple of friends that I rarely see wanted to go out tonight. They aren't big drinkers and may not even drink tonight but I've been avoiding going out socially at all if I'm concerned that the option is even there. And I instantly started having thoughts of drinking if we did go out. Bad, bad.

And the biggest factor is that I have several days off from work in a row in addition to my weekend. This is a rare thing, and in the past I would always binge for a few of those days, and recover on the other ones. And that freaking addictive voice is telling me, "Everyone has a little slip every once in a while, especially in the beginning. Why not just see if you can moderate?"

Please smack me straight!
    Tomorrow's another day.

Afraid of slipping...!

Hi Bella, I don't know that I can help that much, but I can sympathise...I'm on Day 24 and am finding this 3rd week tougher than all the rest. For me, a lot of thoughts popping up about my actions in the past etc, and I have been biting the head off everyone!! I even had a rant at my acupuncturist today - oops... Sorry I can't help, but just to let you know you're not alone in the week 3-ish slump :l
    AF since 13th July 2010