Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie with a question

hi all,

i have spent most of today reading on this site! I am alcohol dependent, i think!

i will post again about me and my story but need to ask a question - i want to stop drinking, i am ready to stop - long, long story!

How likely am i to get seizures if i just stop?? I have drunk 2 bottles of wine every night for about 3 years and the last few weeks it has gradually crept up to 4!!

I am ready to stop but terrified of having a seziure - i am a single mum!

newbie with a question

Hi Dolphin and welcome. I'm no medical expert but that's alot of wine every night for an extended period. I would advise medical intervention. Withdrawal can be very dangerous. There are many here who have gone cold turkey and detoxed on their own. I did not. I think you should err on the safe side. My opinion!
    Outside of a dog a book is mans best friend. Inside of a dog its too dark to read

Comment

newbie with a question

Hello Dolphin, I'm not sure about wether its advisable to just stop completely if its been as many as 4 bottles but I don't know the medical facts sorry. Its great that you've got in touch, wellcome! Can you maybe start by cutting down for a week? You'll fine loads of help, advice and kind words on here so keep posting and reading. I'm sure someone will answer your question for you soon, in the meantime I just wanted to offer my support to you xx
      AF since 19th August 2011

Comment

newbie with a question

thank you for answering - its only been 4 bottles for 2 nights - before then it was 3 bottles for 3 weeks and before then 2 bottles - i will post my history at some time

Comment

newbie with a question

Dolphin even two bottles a night for a couple of years is a considerable amount. I know folks are apprehensive about disclosure but you need to be mindful of the risks...John xx
          Outside of a dog a book is mans best friend. Inside of a dog its too dark to read

Comment