I'm diving in!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm diving in!!

:new: OK - here goes! I got all my stuff in the mail (I think I ordered one of everything in the store). I'm still waiting on the Campral which I ordered online.

I have been drinking for 20 years. It has gotten progressively worse (no shock there huh?). Now I drink (and blackout) almost daily. I am also starting to isolate. I KNOW this is a really bad sign. The isolation makes me depressed, the depression makes me isolate......both of these things make me bored and boredom makes me want to drink. :boohoo:

I have been lucky in such that I am a very funcational drinker. I have never lost a job, or a friend or a husband. I have never had an accident or DWI. I'm a pretty good mom (when I'm not drinking) and things on the surface still look OK. But the warning signs are everywhere and I know this won't last much longer. I'm also really worried that I am literally KILLING myself and I have a 12 year old son. I can't do that to him.

Three years ago I checked myself into an intensive outpatient program. I was in group meetings with people who were MUCH younger than me....there were anorexics, abuse victims, drug addicts, and kids who probably weren't addicts but had gotten in trouble with drugs so their desperate parents checked them in as patients. I couldn't relate to ANY of it. At one point they made this girl pile a bunch of pillows on the floor and hit them with a bat. She DID NOT want to do this and got nothing but embarrassment out of it. That was it for me... all I was doing was wasting my time.