Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am new to this

Hi all,

This is my first post to the real world that I have a problem. I hate that I have a problem. I never thought it would be me. I have always been the strong one in my life, family, world.

I quit once before for two years but someone I was close too, who probably also was addicted, gave me a drink and I have not stopped since; it has been more than six years.

I am embarrased that I cannot drink socially. I want to quit drinking nightly and be normal. I recently left my husband and want to find a new life but am embarrased about my addiction.

Can anyone relate?

1017kmr

I am new to this

Hi 1017KMR,

Welcome to MWO, glad you found us!
    If you haven't already, read the MWO book. Yuo can download it right from the Heath Store here.

Having two years of sobriety lost must be very difficult for you, I am sorry. But wiith a stong commitment & a good plan, yuo can do it again! Look in the https://www.mywayout.org/community/f1...box-27556.html for some good ideas.

Admitting you have a problem is a very important step. I'm glad you've reached out. Read around the threads, you will see lots & lots of stories....we all have one. You will find lots of comfort & support here - I did

Wishing you the best & please drop in the Newbies Nest thread for more support!

Lav
    AF since 03/26/09
    NF since 05/19/09
    Success comes one day at a time :thumbs:

Comment

I am new to this

Can anyone relate? :H
      We can all relate.
      A lot of us would like to be able to drink normally, but most of us have a problem achieving that, whether it's social or alone drinking. I can drink moderately socially, but if I drink alone it can become a problem.
      If your problem embarrasses you, it's time to do something. Read the info on here and decide if you're ready to tackle yourself. This is not a problem you want to carry into any new relationship is it?