a comflicted wino

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

a comflicted wino

Hello everyone. I've been lurking on here for a while and I figure it's about time to try to make some progress for myself. I am a stay at home mom, a wife, and a serious functional alcoholic. I drink at least a 1.5 liter bottle of wine every night. I've been doing this for about six years. I always liked to drink, but the hard drinking kicked in after I went through something terribly tragic. I've been diagnosed with PTSD and anxiety but no medication that I have ever been given has helped. My panic attacks are pretty severe and I feel like drinking is the only thing that calms me down. I wait until the kids winding down for bed before I start drinking, and I polish the bottle off just in time to pass out around 11. I never thought that my drinking was a problem until the physical repucussions started kicking in. I've recently started to feel sick to my stomach by noon and my hands tremble until I have my first glass of wine in the evening. It makes me consider drinking earlier, but I refuse to do that with my kids around .. so I spend most of my day feeling sick. I just want to get myself out of this mess, but I am scared. I am scared of withdrawal, my anxiety, panic attacks, everything. I am afraid that the sober version of me will be much worse of a mother than the drinking version of me. I can't imagine how my brain will react with no relief from the feelings I manage to hide during my kids waking hours. Ugh. I hope I can find my way like so many of you guys have. I am afraid. :upset:

a comflicted wino

Welcome Conflicted. First and foremost I am so sorry you went through something tragic. It is great you decided to post because there are lots of supportive people here to listen!
    I am a Mother myself and have suffered from drinking too much for a long time (beer is my preference...but I can drink alot of it!)