What do I do for fun now?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I recently had a liver fuction test which showed me as way over the acceptable maximum(7 times over!) This has shocked me into trying to do something about it and I havent had a drink for 4 days now (first time ever). Even this hasnt been easy despite knowing what might await me if I go back to old habits. I have been consuming about 70 units a week for 25 years, and to be brutally honest have enjoyed doing so more often than not. I have held down a well paid job and been quite successful in life.

However I have now been brought crashing down to reality and need to address my problem immediatelty. Being honest without this news I would have happily carried on this lifestyle

I am scared to death to be frank and seem to be walking around in an out of body sort of way for 4 days ,not quite sure which way to turn. My social life has totally revolved around opprtunities to drink such as attending sports events, meals with the family, hanging out with drinking mates etc (I'm not sure I have any other kind).
    What, how, when, and with who can I replace my fun time with something that doesnt involve drinking? (Rhetorical question I guess)
    Thanks for listening to my ramble and huge best wishes to all of you trying to achieve your personal goals.:new:

Hi BG,

I found myself in a similar situation. I whole life revolved around drinking. One of the things that kept me drinking even after I knew I had a major problem was the belief that I could not enjoy life without alcohol. It was who I was, it was why I bought my home, (party house, pool room, bar), it was how I celebrated and mourned every occassion. It was all I knew and all I really loved...and I was damn good at it!