Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quit drinking after hospitalization

Hey all,

I'm a newbie here, and am still in a lot of mental pain after being hospitalized with pancreatitis a week ago. The Doc told me to stop drinking (easy? Hah!) after years of imbibing the wicked juices. I went cold turkey the past week, and couldn't sleep. It was pure hell. I finally slept last night for awhile.

My wife is an angel. She hates to see me like this. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance,

Matti1024

Welcome Matti, I didn't sleep for almost 80 hours after a particularly bad detox. I have a prescription for trazodone, which had no effect while I was detoxing and it usually knocks me out and can keep me out for 9-10 hours. Has your doctor given you any prescriptions for sleep aids to try? The insomnia will be wicked for a while, at least in my experience.

You will find a very supportive community here and all of us are wrestling with similar demons.

Comment

Thanks for that, aihflvt. I have an appointment on Tuesday with a psychiatrist.

This whole latest alcoholic binge began when I moved back to SoCal and went off of three psychoactive medications (Lexapro, Abilify, and Klonopin) due to not being able to find a doctor because of change of insurance. I substituted alcohol for these meds, stupidly.

Hopefully my brain will get back to normal soon! I feel better than a couple of weeks ago, but still feel like utter crap. Wish me luck!

Comment

My only words of wisdom is to just stick it out. Your body is not "normal" at all right now. It has some regulating to do, and its probably going to take it out on YOU because YOU are the one that put it through its paces.......LOL

I only know that because I did the same thing to my poor skin and bones. You wont get better overnight...but you will get better. Every morning you wake up, and can say.....I didnt drink last night, will seem like a great battle won......and it is.