Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi I'm new and looking for support

:new:
    Hi everyone, I am new to MWO and really looking for support. I am a married mum of 3, although I lost my second child to cancer 2 years ago, aged 2. I have always had a problem with alcohol, when I was younger I would binge drink at weekends. Since marrying and having children my drinking has gotten worse. It used to be wine at weekends but has progressed to drinking wine every night, sometimes 1 bottle, sometimes 2. Today I am racked with guilt after yet another heavy wine night, guilt I am feeling against my children, how I have also let my angel baby down too and my husband. I have decided that today I need to stop, for myself and for my family. One thing I SHOULD have learnt from losing my child is that life is so very precious and instead I am just ruining mine and my families. Any advice support would be greatly appreciated. I am worrying that going cold turkey may be dangerous, is it best to taper first? I am feeling so low at the moment.:upset:
    Thanks in advance
    Continuous effort - not strength or intelligence - is the key to unlocking our potential.
    ..Winston Churchill..

Hey Mum, congrats for taking the first steps of what I hope is the start of a successful journey for you.

As always AL detox "can" be a dangerous thing.....some have symptoms, some dont. If you have concerns, then maybe a medically supervised detox is in order for you, that is gonna be a "Mum" decision.

The journey will be a roller coaster, sometimes hard, sometimes easy(well, easier) than others. The hardest part is getting past the first few days/weeks, breaking all those old habits.

Im here to tell you, along with others, it can be done "if" you WANT it BAD enough.

Wishing you all the wisdom, strength and support needed to win this battle