Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm new to this

Hello everyone,

I've been trying to quit drinking for over 10 years with very little success. I am a little better at it that before in the sense that I don't black out but I still drink. My wife hates it when I drink not because I become abusive but because but more because her parents are alcoholics and she doesn't want our kids raised that way. I agree with her 100% but I always talk myself into it. Honestly I don't even enjoy drinking I think I enjoy the idea of getting drunk more than actually getting drunk.

A while ago my wife put her foot down and said that next time I bring alcohol in the house her and the kids will leave for the night and stay at a hotel. So I stopped for a little while but then started sneaking it in. Last night I got busted and ended up spending the night outside.

I've tried many times to quit on my own but eventually I always end up breaking down. This time I have to quit and so I'm trying to do it with the support of others. Today I will begin to attend AA meetings. I'm not really sure how that works or what to expect other than what I've seen on TV but I hope it works. I really really want to quit drinking and I'm afraid I will loose everything I have if I don't.

:new:
    09/09/2012

I'm new to this

Round, I just wanted to say welcome to a great site, you will find many people in the same boat. I don't have a lot of advice to give just yet, I am on day 5 of no al, and on a librium taper, I went to my doctor after many attempts to quit, I have made some great friends on here, and a lot of them have great advice, so stick around and good luck to you,
    It takes a lot of will power but so for for me its been worth it!
    Good Luck!:welcome:
    Kdog
    Reflect upon your present blessingings, of which every man has many; not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some

Comment

I'm new to this