My goal is prevention

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My goal is prevention

Hello all. I've recently come to some pretty scary, revealing truths. I have been drinking for about 5 years mostly binge drinking. Yesterday I went out with some friends & got extremely drunk until I blacked out. This morning I woke up early, which sometimes happens after a night like that. I was still feeling the effects of the alcohol. After the effects of the alcohol wore off I began feeling completely horrible, which is expected due to the hangover...this time it was a different feeling. I became easily agitated, sweaty palms, & had a feeling of guilt. I became scared at this point so I got online to do research on alcoholism withdrawl & learned that those are the symptoms. I have blackouts regularly because I drink an unbelievable amount of alcohol once I get started. The scary thing is that my mom was a raging alcoholic. I can avoid drinking without much effort, but I have lots of friends who insist on getting plastered every weekend. I want to preserve my health & mind so I've decided to make a change in my life. I've never tried this before, but I'm gonna cut back drastically & have a limit of 2 beers when I go out...it'll be tough because EVERYONE likes to buy me shots. I suppose I'm looking for some encouragement from you all & some good advice. I'm positive that I'm making a move in the right direction & I will be back here to update everyone on my process. I think it will be interesting to observe everyone else getting drunk & not me because I'm always involved with the insane shananigans. Please give me a little support as I venture off on my expedition to a better life. I pray that everyones hearts desire is fulfilled with blessings of love & hope. Thank you for your time.

My goal is prevention