New Here! Hi Everyone.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Here! Hi Everyone.

Hello to everyone. I am new here and new to this journey. Let me start by saying that this will probably be a bit drawn out. I tend to be longwinded. I apologize in advance.

I guess I should go ahead and lay it out on the table... I am 35, married, 2 small kids. I have been drinking heavily and out of control, regularly for about 3 years now. Before that I was mostly just a weekend warrior, spending my weeks trying to remember what I had done Friday night and Saturday night. About a year ago I came to realize that I could not control my cravings for alcohol and worse, I did not want to. I like drinking and I like catching a buzz. But what I don't like far outweighs that...

I don't like not remembering how I got to bed. I wake up most mornings wondering if I got there myself or if my husband had to pick me up - again - and put me there.

I don't like my deteriorating body. As an avid runner, coming into race season this year I have sustained more injuries and found myself on the bench more than I am on the road. I hate that. I do not know for sure that there is a direct link, but my body is not recovering from injury very well, and I am more prone to injury than ever before.

I don't like putting my kids in danger. When my husband is out of town - which is regularly during the week - I wake up wondering, what if something happened to my kids in the middle of the night. First of all, would I be able to wake myself from my comotose passed out state? Secondly, would I have the ability to help them if they needed it? I fear the answer to both would be NO. And that bothers me more than anything else I can think of in the world. They are 3 and 1. There is no way they can help themselves. I need to do better and asap.