Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Catch it early?

Hello.

I am a professional soldier from England, who has what I believe to be the beginnings of a drink problem. I suffered with another addiction a few years ago, and managed to sort myself out, get fit, and save my life by joining the Army and escaping from a bad crowd.

I have recently been posted to a very quiet Unit, where a lot of evenings are spent alone. I have always enjoyed a drink, but I have found myself drinking alone and watching TV etc. I dont feel depressed but I am getting the urges to drink, that I remember from my other problem. A couple of days ago I resolved to no longer drink alone, only socially and so far I have managed it. I am Alcohol free for two days, but i am finding it quite tough today. When i am away with work I go for weeks/months without a drink and its not a problem, its only during idle time I get the urge.

I can be watching a film and before i know it i have a can in my hand. I am throwing myself into physical training to take my mind off it, and I find this is helping also, but I guess my real question is; can you catch an alcohol problem early, if you have open eyes to what addiction is, and can read the signs?

Sorry for a long opening post, but I find reading these very helpful to me!

Regards,

Rich:new:
    Walking a fine line since 99

Catch it early?

hi Rich and :welcome: , that's not a long post , God, you should see some of my ramblings...

I'm not the worlds expert but yes, I do think you can catch an alcohol problem early. it seems to be the experience of a lot of people here.

this is a wonderful site and I am sure you will find it really helpful. If you are able to sit with a pc during your free time at your Unit you will find plenty of advice, humour and common sense on these pages. I would really advise you to download or order the book too. It helped me a lot.

Glad you're here, and glad to hear that some of "our boys" are having a quiet time!