Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Welp, time to try something new.

Hey all. I'm a 30 year old female.

Years ago I was addicted to Heroin and joined NA and lived in a halfway house, worked the steps and now have 11 years clean (from Heroin).

I'm a nursing student in my 2nd year (graduate next may) and have noticed that since 2009 that my drinking and smoking has increased dramatically. I was a 4.0 gpa student before nursing and have made all B's in nursing so far, which is hard to do. Obviously I'm a high functioning alcoholic and hide it well. Except that my boyfriend just the other day said he was concerned, not that I drink, but with how much I drink. I've admitted it to myself many times and keep telling myself that I'm going to cut back or just stop, but then the next evening comes and I go out and buy some wine or beer or whatever I'm in the mood for, but to have someone I love notice it just really crushes you and makes you realize that it really is time to change some things.

Like I said before, I'm a nursing student so I know what alcohol can do to the body, but I also know what detox and withdrawals can do. Both scare the crap out of me.

Anyway, I came across this forum while searching for "how to detox safely at home". I don't want to seek professional help because I personally know how often HIPPA laws are violated.

I've found forums to be very helpful in the past, so I decided to join and see if I might be able to make some changes with some help.

:thanks:

Help

I can't offer you advice on how to safely detox at home but I am sure lot's of folks here will have good advice. In the mean time so the advice is sound, maybe you could share what your drinking and how much. I know that withdrawel can be different depending on qty and type.

There are some amazing people here, many of them in a different time zone, just wait and bit and they will show up.

Comment

maddiemadison;1416146 wrote: Help