Just registered ... my first post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I've been thinking about getting off the juice for the past year or so, but never seemed to feel ready or committed. I have been drinking for almost 30 years ... early on it was infrequent binge drinking, but it has gradually evolved into frequent, heavy drinking. I typically drink 8-10 Bud Lights in a sitting, about 5-6 nights a week. I believe that my drinking is largely driven by work-related stress. My high workload coupled with my tendency to worry is a deadly combination (literally). By the end of each day, I'm usually mentally fried and can't wait to get home for an evening of smokes & beer (I only smoke when I drink). My drinking decreases significantly on the weekends.

I am trying to lose weight and my doctor prescribed Topamax back in December (to reduce food cravings ... didn't tell him about my excessive drinking). I started taking 1-2 pills at night (off and on) for a couple of weeks, but soon quit because it made my beer taste bad and it caused a bad taste in my mouth. I've been losing weight, but not as fast as I'd like. I've had to pretty much quit eating to make up for all the beer calories, so I've decided to go back on the Topomax and to finally get serious about my alcoholism.

While browsing browsing amazon.com yesterday, I ran across the MWO book which led me to this website. Upon first learning about the MWO approach, I was a bit skeptical about the hypnosis and the supplements. However, after reading some of the postings on this forum, I've become a believer and have ordered the book and tapes. Can't wait to get them!

I REALLY want to be successful in this journey, so I'm looking forward to the support of this community. You guys are great!

:welcome: msadventure!

You've come to a fabulous place.
    Keep reading and posting and most of all never give up!

Katie
    Nov 1 2006 avg 100 - 120 drinks/week
    April 29 2011 TSM avg 70 - 80/wk