First day

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First day

Forgive me if this has been covered before, I'm totally new to this. How have people managed their very first day of sobriety. I have been made redundant from my primary job but work part time at a country club so I can't avoid alcoholic situations altogether. My danger time is late afternoon - any suggestions on how to cope at this time:

First day

Hi and welcome,

When I started I'd change my usual schedule and I'd suggest that for you in the late afternoon. I took walks and did things that interested me (but I hadn't time to do before). I surrounded myself with close friends who knew what I was doing. I asked for support. I didn't find MWO until I was 2 or more months sober. Then I spent, and continue to spend, lots of time reading here. Keep posting and ask for support.

Comment

First day

Welcome Red....... The best way to manage these times is to eat......it is very rare to have cravings when we are full. Low blood sugar is the source of most cravings as the body and brain has learned that alcohol gives a massive sugar hit as well as the pleasure buzz.

Eat well, protein and veg, avoid sugary hits as they cause your blood sugar to spike and trough, get plenty of fluids to start flushing the toxins and rest as much as possible.

Days 1-5 are the worst, then the alcohol has left the body and you are then just dealing with the mental game of habits and triggers.

It is not as hard as you fear, and it is fear that is the main obstacle to quitting IMO

Comment

First day

Hi Redshoes and :welcome:!!

I made a LOOOONG list of things to do. I printed it out and kept it with me at all times. I put some stuff on the list that was "chore" type stuff. Cleaning closets that I hadn't touched in years, etc. I also put ACTIVE things on my list like walking and other exercise type things. I also put FUN stuff on the list.