Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here

Afternoon all,

I've been reading this forum for some time and have decided to dive in. I'm currently a 7 days a week heavy drinker and weed smoker, occasional cocaine, mdma and ecstacy user. Growing up in the rave era of the late 1980's early 90's, this use is true of a lot of my generation and it continues in us (most of us just about in our 40's, some in our 50's) , especially my circle of friends, to this day.

I average 15 units per night and approx 10 joints a day (more if it there's a night out etc etc). Smoking (I smoke cigarettes also) weed starts in the morning and continues throughout the day/eve. Drinking starts at approx 6:30pm and continues until either a) blackout, or b) manage to not blackout and head to bed, c) wife moans at me to go to bed.

I can't recall when the drinking became a problem, but I went to a drug councillor some 7-8 years ago. I wish I'd continued as I'm now 7 yrs further down the slippery slope, but the reason I stopped seeing him was because he told me "I don't think you'll ever be able to stop". I hope he's now in another profession which involves manual labour. I then went, a couple of years later, to another councillor who helped to a certain degree and I was having days off drink during the week, taking care to not break strong ties to it, ie Chelsea play in the champions league on wednesdays make that an "on" night. the smoking continued unabated. Because of working for my parents (a huge cause of stress and anxiety) I had to stop my weekly councilling sessions as I didn't tell them (or want to) what the cause of my doctors visits were and it became a problem.