Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to forums, starting a taper

Hello everyone,

Newbie here, but unfortunately "experienced" in a bad way elsewhere.

I am on the eve of day 2 of a taper now. I have only tried a taper once before and was not successful because I was not honest and did not have the knowledge as to how they really worked.

A little background, I have been in and out of the rooms in person and online for about 10 years. Been to a couple outpatients and a couple detoxes. I recently got out of a treatment facility that included detox for 22 days total. Did quite well the first week and then BAM.

Where I live the only openings are for places that do about 20 days to 6 months and I have to get back to work soon. That is what I just came out of as well, not to mention even with insurance it would get quite expensive. There are two detox only places but they are booked up for some time. I do have my other half with me and will go to the ER if need be.

It is not going "horrible" just yet, but the pulse and blood pressure are hard to control consistently and I might just have to do the ER visit if they do not make some progress soon. On a side note, I am in one of those areas where the ER's are basically useless for alcohol. I have done my share of reading the past 48 hours on tapering and have a pretty good idea of the goals and mindset and do not believe I am going too fast. I do have a history of high blood pressure and pulse and am on meds for them, so I know that is why mine can skyrocket from detoxing. Heck I even had it when I just detoxed on Valium a few weeks ago.

Today over all was better though with my pulse and blood pressure doing much better most of the day. Oh and the reason I mostly bring those symptoms is because those are my main concerns and my fall close to the "high" range, where if I even have any other symptoms they would fall in the "mild" range.