Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here for the first time

Hello all - :new:

I'll admit it - I like to drink and when I drink, I like to drink a lot. I prefer not to drink in public but when I do because I don't want to stand out in a crowd, I always limit myself to just one drink. I like to drink alone so I can drink as much as I wish (which is usually about a pint of blended Canadian whiskey) without making a spectacle of myself.

I've suspected that I've had a drinking problem for a while but have done a good job of hiding my problem from my wife of 10 years, friends and professional colleagues. I travel a lot and never get drink at home, preferring to do my drinking on the road tucked safely away in a motel. I never have hangovers and drinking has never affected my professional performance - I own my own company and we continue to do better each year.

I've considered AA but I'm a prominent member of a medium sized coastal southern community and a business owner and there is nothing anonymous about AA. I respect AA as a sucessful program that has helped a lot of people but I don't want the stigma. I'm hoping to cut back on my drinking, perhaps stop my solitary drinking all together and have that occasional one drink every once in a while when I'm in a social setting.

I look forward to making new online friends and welcome any of your suggestions. Just wondering if there are folks out there with similar stories as mine.

Hi K, Welcome you have friends here, You have yet to met but everyone is helpful. It is a good place to be. Read RJ's book take the supplements and know were here!
    Mary

Comment