Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

In need of guidance

Hello, all.

This is my first time posting here and anywhere really. I found this site by googling "I think my boyfriend is secretly drinking" and here I am! I am in need of some advice. Please, anything at all is appreciated.. Even just a listening ear.

A little back story..

I am an alcoholic. I started drinking in my early teens. Before I became sober, at my worst, I was drinking all day, everyday. This included at work. I was in a very bad way. I had become sober once before for about 2 years. Unfortunately it didn't stick and I began drinking again. I drank heavily every day for a couple more years until I became sober again. I will have 4 years soon. I am thankful for everyday that I am sober.

When I was 21 and well into my drinking years, I met my boyfriend who I am with today.. 8 1/2 years later. When he and I met we were both drinking. Within 2 weeks I decided that I wanted to become sober after our first booze fueled fight. I actually did it, as did he. A couple years later I found out that he had been secretly using heroin. I used this as an excuse to start drinking again. The next couple of years were a blur. He eventually went into treatment and got clean. I was still drinking. He begged me to stop. I kept promising I would. I finally kept my promise although it took many months. We have both been clean and sober for almost 4 years after this mess. Or so I thought..