New

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New

Okay, I'm not only new this site, I'm new to chat rooms or whatever they're called, so this feels a little uncomfortable to me. Anyway, I got MWO book last month after my husband blew up when he found I'd smuggled a bottle of wine from his stash and drank it. He's not an Alcohol Abuser, and doesn't understand at all my problem. He's taken to "hiding" alcohol from me so that he will have it when he wants a drink. He will keep a bottle of alcohol for YEARS, and of course eventually I find it.... Anyway, I really liked the book and feel that I can relate to many things in it. I went to AA meetings with my Dad years ago (before I had the problem and he was a recovering alcoholic). I don't really care for the meetings and like the idea of handling this more privately. I'm successful in other areas of my life, but feel like I could easily beocme even more addicted to alcohol if I don't take steps right now.

Anyway, I'm embarrassed and coming from an Alcoholic family I understand the ramifications of alcoholism. I don't drink enough to black out, but I definitely drink 2-3 drinks (usually wine) each evening. I would like to think that I can become a moderate drinker, but may have to face abstinence. I'm picking up my Topomax today (ordered online) and that will complete my program, which I plan to start when I return from a business trip next week. I'm a little nervous about taking the Topomax, which is why I've put off starting until after my trip. Any thoughts?

New

Dear Trying: For me, alcoholism has been progressive. I didn't always drink the way I do now. I cannot drink moderately (that doesn't mean you can't), because when I open a bottle I always finish it. 2 - 3 drinks for me would not be enough at all. I've had success w/this site. I come on here every day even if I've binged the night before. I get a lot of encouragement & strength. Good luck to you. Mary
    Wisdom, Courage, Strength