Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Grateful To Have Found This Site

:new:
    I am new to this site - and to "online communities" in general- so please excuse my awkwardness at this. I am thrilled to find this website, this great group of people, and this very promising-looking program.

I am a 52 year old business owner and mother of four. I have read many of your posts and our stories are all so similar. I, too, am a wine lover who doesn't know when to stop. I plan my day around my drinking - even to the point that I don't take evening appointments and avoid professional meetings that lapse over into my "personal drinking time".
    I have been drinking regularly for about twenty years, but this is the worst it's ever been. A bottle of wine a night is not uncommon. The last few weekends, I have shocked myself by drinking two bottles in one night. I don't black out, but usually don't remember what I said or did the night before. I am fairly high-functioning even when I've had way to much to drink, so my husband and kids really don't know how bad it's gotten.

I am ashamed of myself and want this to stop. I'm tired of being worried about my behavior, and I'm tired of waking up feeling disappointed in myself once again. I CAN be very strong when I need to be, and I am determined to make this program work. I hope I can go the "moderation" route because I want to be able to enjoy the occasional social drink - and I really LOVE red wine.

I "fessed up" to my physician on Friday and got my prescription. I ordered my CD's today and purchased the supplements. I am ready to start the program and am confident that it will work. I know it won't be easy, though, and I will be coming to you all for support and encouragement. I also look forward to being a supportive friend to all of you. I appreciated any tips you might share for someone just starting the six-week program.:thanks:

Welcome MountainLady,
    You have come to the right place.