Antabuse question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Antabuse question

How long do you need to be AF before starting Antabuse?

I finally got the go ahead from my doctor. The nurse called yesterday and told me. As soon as I hung up the phone, I burst into tears. Seems like I've waited so long to begin. I'm so excited - and so scared!

Antabuse question

Hi there
    I'm so happy for you! I would say 12 hours to be safe. I'm not a medical professional but have had a bit of experience with Antabuse. Feel free to ask any questions if you are scared or unsure.
    Good luck!

Find my story here: https://www.mywayout.org/community/f2...ies-63122.html

And we have a great support group here: https://www.mywayout.org/community/f2...ion-44427.html

(well, I'm the only one on antabuse but our group is more about support than about meds really)

It is very important to get as much as possible support during the first week and not to mess around with Antabuse, OK? Its a very strong drug and you will not be able to drink on it. If you drink one sip or two sips of wine you will start feeling your cheeks flushing and if you continue you will just feel sicker. It is not possible to feel giddy or happy or mellow or drunk on Antabuse so please DO NOT drink on this. You have to wait at least 3-7 days before you can drink again.

If you are not sure you can do this on your own, I advise that you get some other help for cravings e.g. L-Glutamine or Topamax.

I'm here if you need more advice hon, be kind to yourself.

:l

Comment

Antabuse question