Newbie here/Baclofen guidance needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi all, I have been hanging around these boards for a while now and have greatly enjoyed reading many of your posts. My reasons for taking Baclofen now are slightly different from many of yours, but not by much. Sorry this is kinda long, but first let me give you a few details. I am an addict and an alcoholic who also experiences considerable social anxiety that has severely impaired my life. I am also extremely med intolerant and lets just say that because of that, I am a doctors worst nightmare. After much research, I came across Baclofen and suggested it to an old p-doc. He actually quickly prescribed it to me but I quit taking it shortly afterwards because I thought it was depressing me.

Fast forward about eight years after a really difficult internship (I’m actually going to school to be a substance abuse counselor) I got desperate. I may have been prescribed Baclofen for alcohol cravings at one time, but to be honest after many severe benders where I made an absolute fool of myself, I have since formed a natural aversion to alcohol on my own. My real nemesis however, that has driven me back to other things (such as opiates) has been the social anxiety.