Spreading your Baclofen dose

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I was just wondering what the general opinion is with regards to splitting your dose up? From what I've read it seems to be a 3 dose and 4 dose plan are the most popular. I'm thinking about starting with a 3 dose plan, something like 8am/1pm/6pm?

I just want to stick to a steady plan and take it easy to avoid SEs.

Thanks

For the ant-craving effect, it doesn't seem to matter very much how you divide your day dose. Only the day dose itself is important.

For the side effects however, it is very important. You could adapt the individual doses to minimize SE's at certain moments.

For example, I take my 80 mgs in 20-20-40 at 8AM-2PM-11PM, so I'm more alert during thr daytime.

If you're at really high doses, I would suggest 4 doses instead of 3.

I'm not a doctor, just a fellow recoverer, so if you take my advice, you do it at your own risk.
    Today is the first day of the rest of my life.

Comment

Thanks Xadrian. This will be my second attempt so SEs are a big factor. I don't want to split the daily up to much as I'm likely to start forgetting doses.

Comment

Staying on a certain dose for a while, until SE's subside and then continue to go up slowly is also an option. Some people had benefits from doing so.

Comment

When I was titrating up I split my doses into 4 equal doses. At that point my last dose was around 9-9:30. After my switch I take 2 doses and my last dose is by 7:30. Everyone's different, but I find I sleep better if I take baclofen earlier in the night. Good luck.

Comment

Hey guys,

I've finally tapered off Bac altogether with the help of some Librium and Diazepam. I'd like to say it was easy enough but at one time or another it was pretty hard gong. The anxiety, paranoia, intrusive thoughts and generally feeling of not feeling totally in control was pretty scary but I took my last dose of 6/6/6 yesterday and will give it 3-4 days to see how I feel.