Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WANT to Stop - but do I need to detox

Hello everyone,

I hope everyone is doing ok today and are enjoying the Christmas holidays. :new:

I have posted in the past but not since the summer and Ive not been able to reduce my alcohol intake. The good news is that I have hit a brick wall and really WANT to stop now.

Heres a quick summary about me....

Im being treated for depression, anxiety and ADHD (recently diagnosed) and am seeing a therapist. The ADHD diagnosis was a breakthrough as is my new depression meds butmy wine intake and addiction is now really getting in the way of my recovery and getting better.

I have been drinking 1 bottle of white wine every evening for about 3 years - since I was burguled in my home while I was sleeping (Im 37, female, live alone) and starting a really stressfull job 6 months before the burgulary. I started another job in April 08 and this ended in November due to a disability discrimination.

My intake has increased to 2 bottles per evening, rarely 2.5 over the last month. I usually have 1 day free of alcohol per week. Sometimes 2 if I manage it. I very rarely drink spirits or beers and have no cravings in the morning or during the day. Its a boredom, stress relief thing but isnt helping me at all anymore.

My liver aches now and this started about 1 month ago. I drink a lot of water and eat healthy but not regularly - only lunch and dinner - as my sleep pattern is whacked, since I'm not working.

Anyway given the amounts that I've been drinking, do I need a detox?

My last drink was last night - even though I promised myself on Monday that I wouldnt drink anymore. My brother is an alcoholic and there were arguments involving my family over Christmas. Im just sick of it all. I was AF on Tuesday but had a good, happy day and thought I would be ok. How riduclous....