Urge surfing works when cravings hit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I posted this yesterday on a different thread and it was suggested to maybe share it. If it will help with anyone overwhelmed with cravings I will be glad I repeated it here.

Last night was a very very close call with AL. The cravings were very intense when I was making supper. I kept thinking I love this peppermint tea I am drinking but really I was thinking "no what you really want is a cold beer". And as much as I tried to enjoy the tea I couldn't. I found myself getting weaker and weaker. Almost salavating for the beer.

I knew it wasn't me thinking but the Beast talking no, SCREAMING in my head.

So I tried something I have never done before (but read it in the Tool box thread). I tried to ride out the urge, urge surfing. I read it before and thought "That will never work, the cravings will just keep getting worse all night long..."

But I tried it anyway and kept drinking the tea.

AND....I kept thinking about
    Scenario #1 - Tomorrow after having a sober night
    Or Scenario #2 - Tomorrow after a beer binge.

I went with #1 and tomorrow which is now today was FANTASTIC!!

Phew. It was really hard in the moment. But like the tool box says, the urge ACTUALLY fades away. Something I figured would just get stronger actually disolved. Thank goodness.

And I also made sure I ate right away with the family so the urge was completely killed for the night! Very happy to have made it through that one!

Hope this helps others

Way to go Meech, I am going to remember this when the cravings strike.

Peace

Comment

Meech thanks so much for sharing that helpful experience. It's a real user friendly tool for an intense seemingly unmanageable situation. It really is doable! And the successful urge surfing really empowers you and makes you stronger for others that may pop up!
      sigpic
      Thoughts become things..... choose the good ones. ~TUT

Comment