I could use a little info.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello all! I am a newbie to MWO. I'm a combat veteran who has been self-medicating with alcohol for eight years in order to help with PTSD. I know (and have known) that this is not the answer. It became a huge issue when it became fun. Now it's a major addiction. I drink nearly one liter of vodka per night. The danger is increased by the addition of Celexa to combat anxiety and depression, which are made worse by consuming alcohol. Vicious circle... Anyway, I wish to quit drinking. I want my old life back. To have the desire to go places and do things would be a blessing.

My concern is in how I should go about it. Cold turkey, or taper? Meds (I don't like meds) or no? I understand Celexa is sometimes given to curb withdraw symptoms anyway. Potential bonus! I haven't had a drink in the last 51 hours and have only slept for about three of those. I had a headache this morning, which Tylenol has cured. I'm having some minor muscle spasms, a few weak hot flashes, one or two auditory hallucinations (sounds like bees buzzing). Heart rate has been fine, nausea has diminished, no brain zaps and so far, no chest pain.

Should I just continue cold turkey and hope nothing gets worse? I know I'll sleep eventually and the other lesser debilitating symptoms will diminish. I just don't want things to get any worse. Any insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks all!

Only my personal opinion but going from one bottle to zero and with your symptoms seems a little unsafe. I drank half a bottle of vodka daily and started due to PTSD, but have you got someone with you?

Comment

Hi Vet
      I know nothing about withdrawal, but there are many here who do.
      I have quit drinking, finanlly, with no meds. I tried them all, but could not stand the side effects.
      Much love and support friend, and thank you for your service to our country!

Can't the local VA help you??