weekly AA Thread - Dec. 26 - Jan. 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I hope all out there are enjoying the season. Sobriety definitely puts a different spin all the festivities. We usually see the parents of someone close to us on Christmas Day. They're pretty heavy drinkers. (I don't like to characterize anyone as alcoholic unless they do). Anyhow, this year, they decided to stay home on Christmas Day. I know exactly what they were doing, because that would have been my preference a few short years ago. When you're at home, especially w/someone who is also a heavy drinker, there are no constrainsts. You don't have to:
    -make conversation.
    -put up w/over-excited children.
    -eat.
    -etc.

I know exactly how tempting that isolation can be. The less I had to interact w/the world, the better I liked it. Thank God I don't have to live like that anymore.

Mary
    Wisdom, Courage, Strength
    October 3, 2012

Happy to be sober!

Hi, reteacher.

I was a teacher myself for many years, mostly in MA. See that is where you live, too. Anyway, haven't posted on here for a long time (until the last couple of days), but have 37 days today. Had to go to rehab for 28 days, but I "got it" this time. I go to AA meetings every day now, and did one today and am doing another tonight while my husband goes to AlAnon. I am doing everything it takes to maintain my sobriety, as I never want to go back to where I was just six weeks ago. I am going to check in here every day.
    Thanks for starting the thread! And thanks for being an inspiration!

TDN:thanks:
    "One day at a time."

Comment

TDN!!! It is so awesome to see you and especially to hear that you are doing so well! It took me a long time to "get it" as well. The important thing is that we are alive and we are here!