Newbie here... telling how it is!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have been lurking around for a while, decided to take the plunge and tell my story. I don't know how to charatise myself. I'm here because i feel that i have some kind of problem. I'm 50 have 3 great kids, a husband - we are successful with our lives. I'm fit, i love sport. Reading the threads, my life sounds like some many of the woman here. No one really knows the guilt and stress that i put myself through everytime i drink too much. My brain is tired and stressed from worrying about alcohol.
    I don't drink everyday, used to go months with out drinking. Go out for months and drink only one or two and then all of a sudden one night i get so drunk, i can't remember the last part of the evening. Why do I do that.? I embrass myself,my husband (who stopped drinking 10 years ago) 4 weeks ago i got drunk at a party my children were there and i feel so ashamed that they saw me totally out of control. They have only seen me tipsy before. I usually manage to control it pretty much. I have noticed though over the last year, that I have started feeling like a drink to relax at the end of the day. Most nights i do ignore the feeling. But I have found that I'm getting drunk more than I used to. Before I only drank too much about 2 a year. This year it has been more. I have party friends who i would drink with, but it seems to me that I'm getting drunker at parties at normally i would never have dreamed of drinking too much. I'm tired of agonising over it. I do need help in learning how to control myself, Why have I lost that control?