Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My story...

Hi there,

I am 41, happily married (5 years in Oct) with a 17 year old daughter and a 17 month old son. I have been drinking heavily for over 20 years, I drink around a bottle a night 5 or sometimes 7 nights a week, I have had a couple of completely sober periods - whilst pregnant with my DD and my DS, other than that any attempts I have made have lasted a few days before I have caved in and hit the bottle/s again!

I would say I have had a happy life so far although certain events (my father's suicide, the breakup of my first marriage, a partner cheating on me to name but a few) have definitely exacerbated my drinking habits, but overall I think I just LIKE drinking, I have always liked the taste of alcohol and the feeling of being drunk and my social life has always revolved around drinking. I also think that my parents attitude to alcohol has influenced me - my Dad went to the pub every night and my Mum thought nothing of downing a bottle of sherry in an evening and I often saw her drunk on social occasions.

Anyway, my drinking has definitely become an issue, I feel like I have no control over the amount I drink and I am regularly racking my brains in the morning as to what I have watched on tv or eaten or whether I had a row with my DH, my looks are suffering and I have gained so much weight, I hate who I have become :upset:

So here I am, ready and willing to try to sort out my shambles of a life, I want to change for myself but also for my husband, he is so lovely and supportive and he doesn't deserve to be married to the woman I have become, I owe it to him to my children and myself to be me again...

Thanks for reading
    Taking it ODAT

My story...