A Calif. newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Calif. newbie

Hi Guys, I've been lurking here for quite awhile. But my drinking as escalated alarmingly. I was doing really well just a couple of weeks ago. But then -- ironically -- I went out after exercise class for wine with two gals. They went home, I went to the store...twice. Thus started a 10-day bender. These have been getting more frequent and have completely shut down my work life (I am an at-home freelancer). I think I've finally got to the point where I don't just HAVE to stop, I actually WANT to. I'd gotten on this great health kick where I took two 1/2 hour circuit training classes daily, then often went for a walk with friends after. There's just one day a week where we would be hitting the bar, so I guess I'd better "have an appointment" after on that day to avoid temptation.

Last night I tapered off somewhat, although today I still feel anxious and a little shaky and not all that clear. I have an all day seminar and I'm dreading it -- I am so out of it I'm having to do my shower, breakfast, and getting dressed in shifts...it feels overwhelming. I realize I've been sitting at home with the shades drawn staring at the computer and not accomplishing anything. I had also developed this really strange habit of sitting in the car drinking wine while looking at the waterfront as I am so lonely. This is not only illegal and potentially dangerous, but also downright strange and pitiful. Two other sad behaviors had been napping in the car and when I was heavily into the bender, sometimes even finding a quiet street and urinating in public as I didn't want to go home and wasn't near a public toilet. I mean, that's just pitiful! I'm a middleaged woman!

I also had gotten just a little too angry with three different people recently, and shot off emails that weren't awful, but a little over the top. Drinking really brings out my rage.