Brain chemistry changes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brain chemistry changes

I'm a newbie but certainly am not a "special" alcoholic as my addiction is the same as yours. However, what I've always dealt with is the "need 3 beers in the morning" to feel normal...I'm now at the point where I don't want to sleep because of the intense cravings (nausea, vomitting, irrational thoughts, fears, worries, depression) that occur once I've slept off the alchol induced sleep (normally now more than a couple of hours and I'm craving horrifically again). I don't drink to get "drunk", though it does happen at times...I drink to "maintain" my bodies intense cravings. I have never dealt w/my emotions, but always "pushed" them away w/alcohol, so I am ill-fitted to do so at this juncture in my life, and it's gotten worse as I've gotten older. The only way I function is to drink. I realize I am in great need of therapy, though it's not helped in the past as I'm unable to afford anything other than county rehab. I realize there is no "magic pill" but wondered if any of you have gotten to the point I am, and if so, what worked?? :new:

Brain chemistry changes

Hi Joyful, cool name!!

Welcome aboard, I am not sure I can offer specific help for you my friend, as my cravings did not seem so intense as yours - but if you hang on in there, I am sure someone else on here will be along who can give more advice.
    It sounds like you are at a stage where it might be a bad idea to try to withdraw without medical supervision - so please stick around until someone with more relevant experience comes along to give advice.

The very fact you are here at all means you are at a stage where you have realised that a change is needed.